“How does one b…

“How does one become a butterfly? You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.” – Trina Paulus

I think it can be easy to read a lot of “positive” quotes and not really think about them. You say, “Oh that’s nice” and stick it to your fridge without giving it much thought and probably not really noticing it again.

Have you ever read a quote that stopped you solid in your tracks because you it resonated with exactly what you were experiencing inside?  Those are the times when we finally understand the quotes that we have read over and over and over and have just mistaken for some sort of slogan that gets slapped on a mug or bumper sticker.

I was listening to an “On Being” podcast with David Hartman who said that any sort of epiphany that human beings have, it can’t really be done through being told about it or reading something many times over.  Instead, it’s through experience.  When the experience comes, understanding follows.  The quotes and texts then start to make more sense and illuminate the experience better and vice versa.

I knew I was ready for some really fresh and wonderful change this year when it hit me that the burden of hanging onto my old thought patterns, ways of pursuing work and the way I viewed the world in general, was becoming too heavy to carry around.  The moment, truly the exact moment that i finally decided once and for all (and not half assed like I have done before in spats of pseudo optimistic glints) to let it  go (you just thought of Frozen), I instantly became lighter.  I finally gave myself permission to be 100% happy with my new choice and since then, there is no going back.

Sometimes in iife we are offered the very thing we have always wanted.  We can choose to take it, experience it, and go back to the mundane safety of our everyday lives, or we can decide to rise above where we’ve been and be even better and bring more of what we want into our lives.  

A good friend of mine went through a similar experience in which he had to let go of all of the people in his life who kept putting him down.  They were insecure about his success and so they tried to knock him back into the level of familiarity they had all safely clung to for so long.  When he decided to finally let them go, his life improved and even more success flowed in.  

The same theme repeats itself.  Why stay miserable and unsuccessful for the sake of comfort, when there’s a whole world out there waiting for you to grasp it and make something of your life?

These are the thoughts I had the other morning when I read this quote.  I was drinking my coffee and as my eyes trailed across the words, I froze.  I was there.  I knew exactly what this meant and that I had a decision to make.  And so I did.

I have actually never read this quote before!  I had read the one about the world being over and becoming a butterfly but I think that quote MISSES THE POINT!  You have to CHOOSE to become the butterfly.  But you can’t get something new in your life until you make room for it by clearing out the old.  Ya feel me?

Cue Pharrell Williams.

Leave a Reply

