CPTV vs. Auditioning

So this week I thought I’d tackle two very different parts of my life.

Working at CPTV vs. Auditioning

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not trying to find some deep, hidden truth in two completely different areas of my life.  I am just amused at how very different they are.  In fact, I’m not sure I can find any similarities at all.

*Insert time lapse here.  Like 20 mins*

First, let us look at a few contrasting elements.  One area symbolizes job security, while the other embodies securing a job.  Of course, there will be some differences inherent from the get-go.

CPTV

1. I answer phones

1a. I get yelled at sometimes by people who don’t know me.  See previous blog entry.

2.  I snack all day long.

3.  I dress business casual (I usually interpret this as jeans and converse.  On Friday, my friend Alissa noticed I wore heels and was very proud of me.  That should give you an idea about how serious I am about wearing jeans and converse to work).

AUDITIONING

1.  I don’t answer phones. In fact, my phone is on silent or off.  But I do experience something called “hurry up and wait.”  Symptoms include: rushrushrushing to audition, and waitingwaiting…waiting to get inside the room and perform.

1a. I don’t get yelled at, but if I’m doing a monologue where I yell, I suppose I’m kind of yelling at the casting director, right?

2. I cannot. eat. before an audition.   My body rejects all nutrition until after I am done performing.  The only substance it will accept in advance are liquids in the form of coffee, espresso, or water.  This is probably why I always have to pee really bad when I’m done auditioning.  It also explains why I’m ravenous afterwards.

4.  I dress up nicely for auditions. (People who know me ((for instance, my sister)) roll their eyes at me on my “days off” where I do nothing but wash my hair, let it air dry, wear no makeup, and walk around with my glasses squinting at daylight, dressed in what someone would only describe as something between what a 5 year old child and an emo hipster on the lower east side would wear).  I clearly take my appearance seriously.  Ahem.

4a. There IS no “4a” for CPTV, but I should mention that I’ve had to dress up very specifically ie “White Trash” or “Sexy French Girl” for certain casting calls, which is a whole another experience in  and of itself.  Here, the “dress nicely” rule doesn’t actually apply in those cases.  I should save this for a completely different entry.

List of similarities that is much longer than I thought it would be:

OK so I have found three items that these two different areas of my life have in common.

1. ACTING (DUH, CASEY. DUH).

I don’t think I need to explain acting when it comes to auditioning, but when it comes to CPTV, I have to speak to people on the phone, and email people online as though I have some idea of what I’m talking about, I must “find the love” in the phone call (the reason for me to not hang up even when people are very rude. In acting school it was called, “find the love in the scene” which to me is the same thing), I must be jovial and sweet even when I’m not feeling it “in the moment,” and sometimes, in very severe cases, I must “act” as though I am the Director of Create TV.  I will only further clarify if people ask:

www.createtv.com

2.  I have to talk to people I don’t really know.  At CPTV this is a daily occurrence happening anywhere from a dozen to a gross times a day. (Can I say “gross” times a day? Yep,just did).  At auditions, I talk to actors I don’t know, which seems perfectly fine, since well…psh, we’re actors, we must have SOMETHING in common.  Most of the time, this is the case.  Sometimes it is not and you have stage 5 clingers.*

*I once had someone follow me from (undisclosed location) all the way to (another far away undisclosed location) in a large city once we had wrapped on set because said person had “nothing better to do.”  I hadn’t learned the fine art of dodging uncomfortable situations like a ninja yet.

Anyway, most of the time talking to people I don’t know is a very enjoyable experience. I can talk weather, sports, or make self-deprecating remarks if necessary.

3.  TMI.

Sigh.  We’ve all been there.  For some reason, people on the phone feel that it is necessary to impart to you any of the following:

-family geneology, how old they were when they went on their first date, what they ate for breakfast, how much they have a crush on someone 50 years younger, their favorite animal, how they think your name should only be for boys, how many awards they won when they were younger, conspiracy theories, their favorite pasttimes, etc.  Too much information usually makes me laugh hard.  (Or silently laugh and slam my hand or head against the desk). Sometimes it makes me squeamish.  But it’s bearable.

TMI in auditioning is a little different. I often feel as though I am giving TMI about myself.  Stats.  You don’t give stats at the grocery store, the bank, at your job.  But every time I’m “securing a new job” it’s height, weight, clothing size, eye color, hair color, food allergies.  This doesn’t bother me, you understand.  I’d rather give TMI about myself than hear it.  Maybe it’s just because I’ve been an actor for so long.

I don’t know what I’ve learned, dear blog readers, except that being an actor comes in really handy with other work and life situations.

Perhaps to mix things up a bit, I’ll hold auditions in the POD at CPTV next week.  Watch out, Jennifer and Jerry.  I’m looking at you. *evil actory cackle*

2 thoughts on “CPTV vs. Auditioning

  1. I love you. Have I mentioned that lately? 🙂

    I couldn’t eat for days while I was waiting to hear about Stonecoast…

Leave a Reply

